Genius Books’ Summer 2014 Releases

What if there had been one final interview?
Ted Bundy, the notorious serial killer, was responsible for over thirty brutal homicides of young women in the early 1970s. Imprisoned for almost 15 years before his execution in the Florida electric chair in 1989, Bundy was interviewed for hundreds of hours by psychologists, journalists, and law enforcement professionals. He offered insight into the thoughts and methods of other serial killers of the time—but almost never spoke about his own crimes.
Dr. Al Carlisle evaluated Bundy for the Utah court when he was first arrested in 1975 and conducted extensive interviews with him after that. Carlisle has painstakingly reconstructed the life of Ted Bundy through conversations with his friends, family, neighbors, lovers, investigators, and surviving victims—and with the killer himself. I’M NOT GUILTY finally answers the questions about Bundy’s own crimes through a fictional dialogue between Carlisle and Bundy on the day before his execution, and sheds light on the development of the violent mind.
Click here for more info
Little Megan Guthrie has vanished...
Everything is the same. The sudden disappearance of a child, the strange scent that frightens the bloodhounds, the utter lack of evidence. Seven years before, Seth Busby had disappeared in exactly the same way, and was never seen again. Police Chief Nick Catesby can’t forgive himself for failing to find Seth, and it seems neither can the citizens of Wessex Township, New Jersey. This time, it could mean the end of Nick’s career.
Preston Howard claims he saw a strange, disfigured boy he dubbed Gabriel take Megan into the woods. Nick can’t believe the preposterous, drunken story, and suspects Preston may be the kidnapper. But if Nick arrests Preston, he risks losing his chance at happiness with Preston’s daughter, Fanny.
However, Gabriel, the terrifying boy-creature of the New Jersey Pine Barrens, isn’t a drunken hallucination. He is awake, hungry, and very real. Gabriel won’t be keeping to the forest paths, but is seeking his prey in the heart of Wessex Township itself. And this time, it isn’t just the children he’s thirsting for.
Click here for more info

(A Quick) Note from the Publisher—August, 2014

There are many changes in the works for Genius Books in the next few months. We have added two new imprints—Real Genius Press for our dark nonfiction, and Page Burner Press, which will allow us to go in a new direction, specifically towards Cross-Genre Mystery/Noir/Private Eye stories and anthologies. We've picked up two new projects for Page Burner Press this month alone.

Right now, we are looking forward to (in no particular order):
  • A cross-genre mystery/noir/private eye anthology anchored by two very good, well known authors, with more on the way (Page Burner Press)
  • The Toughest Prison of All by Floyd C. Forsberg (Real Genius Press)
  • The Mind of the Devil: The Cases of Westley Allan Dodd and Arthur Gary Bishop by Dr. Al Carlisle, Ph.D. (Real Genius Press)

Finally, we have created a hub for all things Genius at You can find all of our authors and websites there.


— Steven